10 Most Important Things To Know About Wine

Wine might not be vegan

Wine might not be vegan

Wine is fermented grape juice, right? Well, it is, but to bottle clear and shiny wine, producers have to clarify it before bottling in a process called fining, and they often use animal-based compounds like isinglass, that comes from fish bladders, or egg whites.

If you truly want to go vegan, look for wine clarified with non-animal products like bentonite. It’s important to say no trace of any fining agent ends up in the wine, but you might not want to risk it.

Bluefin tuna

14 Types of Fish You Should Always Avoid